Back to top


2023 Applications Now Open

Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship

Are you a current or former patient at IWK Health who is currently entering the first year of post-secondary studies? You may be eligible for the Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship.

If you would like to apply or know someone who would benefit from this opportunity, we’d love to hear from you!


The IWK Foundation invites applications for the Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship. This award consists of a scholarship valued at a minimum of $2,000.

Eligible applicants are current or former IWK patients with an academic average of 75 per cent or higher and are entering their first year of post-secondary studies.

Applicants must submit a minimum 500-word essay answering the following question: How has your experience at the IWK impacted your life and shaped your goals for the future?

Some points to consider when writing the essay:

• Why is the IWK special to you
• Your community involvement or volunteer work
• Your goals for the future
• How the scholarship will make a difference to you

In addition, applicants must submit a recent transcript and two personal references — one from a teacher and one from a representative at the IWK who is familiar with their care journey.

Submitting your application

The deadline for application is Monday, April 10, 2023.

All pieces of your application must be received at the IWK Foundation by 4:30 p.m. on the application deadline. Please keep this timeline in mind when contacting your references; giving them as much time as possible to complete their letters is best.

Please submit all applications to the following address:

IWK Foundation
B220-5855 Spring Garden Road
Halifax, NS B3H 4S2
Attention: Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship

Fax: 902-470-8000


For full details, please see our scholarship application or contact the Foundation at 902-470-8085 or 1-800-595-2266 or email

About the Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship 

The Robbie and Jean Shaw Scholarship Fund was created by a group of dedicated donors interested in paying tribute to the Shaw family for their long-term commitment to making the world a better place. Specifically, Robbie and Jean love IWK Health, and they believe in the potential and passion of every young person to make a meaningful difference, in part thanks to a solid educational foundation. IWK children and youth have a special place in Robbie and Jean’s hearts because of their long-term professional and volunteer experience with the IWK and the IWK Foundation.


John Lindsay Sr. IWK Humanitarian Award

The John Lindsay Sr. IWK Humanitarian Award was established to provide the IWK Foundation and the Lindsay family with a meaningful way to celebrate the incredible achievements of IWK Health Centre staff. Every year, the award recognizes a Health Centre employee who continually gives of themselves and improve people’s lives in the Health Centre and in the community.

All current and former IWK Health Centre staff members (within one year of their tenure) are eligible candidates for this award. This includes, but is not limited to, medical, nursing, administrative, research, facility and special program employees.

Past recipients

2019 – Dr. Jennifer Foster
2018 – Bev Fletcher
2017 – Tanya Bishop
2016 - Darlene Chapman
2015 – Margie Probert
2014 – Buffy Cooper
2013 – Kathleen Leadon
2012 – Dr. Dora Stinson
2011 – Nancy Pasquet
2010 – Jayne Friday
2009 – Kathy McKay
2008 – Cathleen Connell

The nomination package for the John Lindsay Sr. IWK Humanitarian Award is available on the awards page on Pulse, the IWK Health Centre Intranet.

About John W. Lindsay Sr. (June 2, 1926 – May 5, 2006)

A recognized leader in business, John W. Lindsay Sr. was also a renowned philanthropist who used his professional influence and experience to better the community. During his lifetime he was a dedicated volunteer, board member, board director and fundraiser for his alma mater, Dalhousie University, and at the YMCA and the IWK Foundation.

At the IWK Foundation, he was the founding Chair and served on the Foundation’s Board of Trustees for ten years. During this time, he led major capital campaigns and was co-leader of the amalgamation of the IWK and Grace hospitals.

John W. Lindsay Sr. was passionate about all things in life. It is in the spirit of his devotion to his family, business and the community that we proudly name the IWK Humanitarian Award in his memory.